New Year’s Resolutions #poetry and #cake

Hello all! My last post concerned the value of good writing habits, and how they formed part of my resolutions. I am happy to report that I have kept one resolution and broken another… Here is the evidence to convict me:

cake2

This was the last but one bit of my boozy Christmas cake, which I said I wasn’t going to have. On the positive side, it got me started on my 30 minutes of writing, which seems to have been quite productive. I’m working on a series of poetic memoirs- semi autobiographical, biographical, and imagined pasts, presents and futures.

I found this photo in a pile of my dad’s papers; I don’t remember that time in the garden exactly, but all the warmth and safety of that time came back to me. It shows me on my sister’s knee with my youngest brother in the cowboy outfit. It seems to me to be redolent of its time and to have a simplicity and joy about it. It led to the beginnings of a poem about the garden and the memories of being in it at different times in my life, with different people and of what that garden meant. I don’t know if it will be a good poem, but it will be something precious to me, like this photo.

.in the garden copy

I’ll share more later. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

